International organizations


The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) is widely known as the world's "Atoms for Peace" organization within the United Nations family. Set up in 1957 as the world's centre for cooperation in the nuclear field, the Agency works with its Member States and multiple partners worldwide to promote the safe, secure and peaceful use of nuclear technologies. Lithuania became a member in 1993.

The IAEA provides necessary technical support for Lithuania’s domestic and regional projects, organizes courses and traineeships for those who work in Lithuania’s institutions and deal with the questions regarding nuclear energy. It is a crucial support for Lithuania in the context of the closure of the Ignalina nuclear power plant, the plan to build a new nuclear power plant in Visaginas and the goal to keep a status of a nuclear energy state.

More information about IAEA - HERE.


The International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) is an intergovernmental organisation that supports countries in their transition to a sustainable energy future, and serves as the principal platform for international cooperation, a centre of excellence, and a repository of policy, technology, resource and financial knowledge on renewable energy. IRENA was set up in 2009.

IRENA promotes the widespread adoption and sustainable use of all forms of renewable energy, including bioenergy, geothermal, hydropower, ocean, solar and wind energy in the pursuit of sustainable development, energy access, energy security and low-carbon economic growth and prosperity.

IRENA provides a range of products and services, including:

  • Renewable Readiness Assessments, conducted in partnership with governments and regional organisations, to provide policy guidance and facilitate the sharing of case studies and best practices;
  • the Global Renewable Energy Atlas, hosted on the IRENA website, which maps solar, wind sources country by country;
  • the IRENA Renewable Energy Learning Partnership (IRELP), an online learning network;
  • Handbooks for renewable energy policy development;
  • Technology briefs and cost studies to strengthen evidence-based policy-making and investment;
  • Facilitation of renewable energy planning at regional levels;
  • Renewable Energy Country Profiles.

More information about IRENA - HERE.

Energy Charter

The Energy Charter Treaty (ECT) is an international agreement, which establishes a multilateral framework for cross-border co-operations in the energy industry. The treaty covers all aspects of commercial energy activities including trade, transit, investments and energy efficiency. The treaty is legally binding, including dispute resolution procedures. Lithuania has ratified the Treaty in 1998.

More information about the Energy Charter - HERE.

Energy Community

Energy Community is an international organization which is currently comprised of the European Union (EU) and the eight countries of south-east Europe and the Black Sea region (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia and Ukraine). The organisation was founded by the Treaty establishing the Energy Community signed in October 2005 in Athens, Greece, in force since July 2006. The key objective of the Energy Community is to extend the EU internal energy market rules and principles to countries in South East Europe, the Black Sea region and beyond on the basis of a legally binding framework. EU Member States are represented in the organization by the European Commission, but currently 19 EU Member States have a membership status that does not create additional legal or financial obligations but facilitates participation in the organization.

On 16 October, 2015 Lithuania became a  member of the Energy Community.

More information about Energy Community:


Last updated: 15-04-2020